Chicken Salad with Preserved Lemon and Herbs

March 3, 2014 § 2 Comments

P1050333

Yesterday my husband gave me the gift of BBQ from Kau Kau, his favorite source for roasted meat in the International District.  Sweet man.  I ate the Roasted Pig right away (I don’t know why they don’t call it ‘pork’, but neither do I anymore). To eat the roasted chicken also, in one sitting, would be unseemly.  So I tucked it in the fridge, anticipating the leftovers. Today at lunchtime I realized I had every ingredient I needed to make a fine chicken salad, even celery. Twice blessed by roasted meat.           

P1050335

I cracked open my latest jar of preserved lemons for the dressing and was reminded of how the nature of these beauties change as they sit in the fridge. Today’s lemon was still quite zingy and tart, and the last lemon in this jar is going to be a briny powerhouse by the time I get to it, months from now.

P1050339 P1050350

Chicken Salad with Preserved Lemon and Herbs

Yield: 4 cups

1/2 whole roasted chicken, meat removed from bone and chopped into 1″ pieces

1/2 cup mayonnaise

2  teaspoons Dijon mustard

3 teaspoons chopped herbs (tarragon, chives, parsley)

1 cup celery, diced

1 preserved lemon, flesh discarded and rind diced

salt & pepper to taste

8 slices of hearty bread, or Bibb lettuce

In a large mixing bowl combine the mayonnaise, mustard, herbs, celery and preserved lemon. Stir in the chicken and season with salt and pepper.  If time allows, let the salad sit in the fridge for a few hours to allow the flavors to marry. Serve as sandwiches on toasted bread or on a bed of Bibb lettuce leaves.

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Chicken Salad with Preserved Lemon and Herbs

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chicken Salad with Preserved Lemon and Herbs at PANACEA.

meta

