Catching Up on Kitchen Notes

November 2, 2010 § 1 Comment

Life is whizzing by these days. Last week I spent more time than usual at my girls’ school, reveling in Harvest Fest 2010.  It was a ton of fun. When I looked up, my hair was full of hay and three days had gone by.  Whoa.  I didn’t get a chance to post the pics and reminiscences of the dinner we cooked October 25.  So, let’s turn back the hands of time…

Dinner that week was Pork Picadillo, Poblano Rajas, Delicata Squash Salad & Rice.  It was a feast! We started Sunday with a big box of beautiful poblanos.  I put them right on the gas flame to peel of the skin – snap, crackle, pop!  It look a long while, but we peeled those peppers.  At the end of it all our ginormous box of poblanos had been transformed into a modest-sized bowl of roasted peppers. Hmm.  The rajas were absolutely delicious – roasted peppers sauteed with onion, cream & mexican cheese – and I think they really complemented the picadillo.

We’ve gotten a lot of good feedback about the picadillo, and I’m sure we’ll make it again someday.  First of all I just love saying ‘peek-a-dee-yo’. Also, I’m a fan of these sorts of dishes (you have no idea what you’re eating, but it just tastes so good).  Would you believe me if I told you it was diced pork with nectarine, banana, dried apricot… would you? We had never cooked anything like it before.  This is a classic Mexican preparation, and I’d like to shake the hand of whoever thought up such a zany and winning combination, but I’m sure they’re long dead.

The Delicata squash salad was another new experience.  We roasted slices of the pretty, pretty squash with some butter.  It was served on a bed of lettuce with roasted pumpkin seeds (snap, crackle, pop!).  The dressing was a mix of vinegars with pomegranate juice, which I love.  It’s got zing and sweetness.  Even if it doesn’t cure cancer and erectile dysfunction, as the folks at POM have claimed, I’m still a fan.

§ One Response to Catching Up on Kitchen Notes

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Catching Up on Kitchen Notes at PANACEA.

meta

