A Favorite Knife, From A Favorite Store

October 10, 2010 § Leave a comment

JM & I snuck away with our families last week for our annual pilgrimage to Orcas Island.  We had a blast, of course.  Continued the important rituals – eating crab, digging in the sand, sitting on our arses.  Another tradition on Orcas that I hold dear is shopping.  One of my favorite stores of all is in Eastsound: Smith & Speed Mercantile.  They carry the most beautiful things – Japanese gardening tools, lovely carved pocket knives, hand knit washcloths… The store perfectly suits my daydreams about island life (“If I moved to Orcas Island, I could buy this wood burning water heater for my galvanized outdoor soaking tub.”).  This year my husband and I bought two things: an Amish-made hay rake for me (what?) and a gorgeous Japanese knife for him.  Admittedly, his was the more practical purchase.

Owen bought our first Japanese knife a few months ago at Hardwick’s in the U District, and it became highly valued very quickly.  Adding a second blade to our stable was a smart move.  These knives are so sharp, and they stay sharp.  The carbon blade is nice and heavy, and the wood handle feels great. It’s unfinished, so I anticipate the handle will achieve a lovely patina in no-time flat.  Best of all, these knives are inexpensive – under $50.  Get thee to the international district and see one for yourself!

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Favorite Knife, From A Favorite Store at PANACEA.

meta

