PS: More About Fennel

May 18, 2010 § 1 Comment

I have very important news about wild fennel!  I’ve learned that there is an advantage to rampant fennel – fennel pollen.  I had never heard of fennel pollen as a culinary ingredient, but a quick trip to Google educated me.  In an article for Saveur magazine, Peggy Knickerbocker wrote, “If angels sprinkled a spice from their wings, this would be it.”  Well, that sounds good.  I still haven’t tasted it, but apparently the pollen has a very strong, distinctive flavor (intense fennel, I suppose).  I’ve read that you can sprinkle it on meat and fish – any place you want a flavor boost.  It is harvested from fennel flowers in full bloom, and it is very very expensive.  You need a lot of fennel flowers to produce a usable amount of pollen.  I don’t regret axing most of the fennel plants in my flower bed – they were in the wrong place at the wrong time.  But maybe next year I’ll set a spot aside for the fennel to roam free.

Tagged:

§ One Response to PS: More About Fennel

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading PS: More About Fennel at PANACEA.

meta

