Asparagus & Potato Salad

April 30, 2010 § Leave a comment

This isn’t the first you’ve heard from me about local asparagus, and it won’t be the last. Asparagus is here, and I am compelled to buy a bunch every time I go to grocery store.  Tonight we grilled it –  our standard preparation, always delicious.  But I didn’t take a picture of that, so let me tell you about how I prepared it on Wednesday…We had leftover cooked potatoes from Monday’s Panacea dinner – delicious fingerlings from Full Circle Farm.  Looking at those taters and my latest bunch of asparagus side by side in the fridge… well they just seemed meant for each other. I made a vinaigrette – red wine vinegar, salt, and extra virgin olive oil – and let the potatoes sit in that while I got busy with the asparagus.  I blanched the asparagus, then ran it under cold water so that it would stay emerald and alluring.  Oh asparagus, how you tempt me.  I chopped it into 2 in. pieces (heartless, I know), and combined it with the potatoes, vinaigrette,  and very thinly sliced leeks.  Sprinkled with salt and pepper, et voila!  And oo la la.  It was delicious.

Here’s something I learned this week: If asparagus sits in lemon juice, it will discolor.  Which is the opposite of what one would presume, because lemon juice makes most produce not discolor.  Huh. Well, now we know.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Asparagus & Potato Salad at PANACEA.

meta

