Asparagus! Aspaaaaaragus!!

April 26, 2010 § Leave a comment

Yesterday I got a phone call from my mom, reporting an asparagus sighting at the University District Farmer’s Market.  She’s a reliable source. Just one booth had it, she said, and it went quick at a premium price.  Today at PCC I saw it with my own eyes: Washington-grown asparagus.  YES! YES!  Spring is here, for REAL.  Once the earth is growing tender edibles like asparagus I know that it is time to believe in Spring.  We’ll use it in a Panacea meal ASAP, but don’t wait for us.  Get thee to a grocer, and buy this quintessential Spring vegetable.  The spears I bought today were byooootiful  –  I was moved to nibble one raw.  Sweet and crunchy.  These were fatties, so I used a vegetable peeler to take off the tough skin on the bottom of the spears.  It takes time but I’m cheap!  When you’re paying top dollar, you don’t want to waste an iota more than you need to.  Tonight we had ours steamed and doused with vinaigrette.  Dinner was followed by my daughter’s heralding the first asparagus pee of the season.  Yippee!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Asparagus! Aspaaaaaragus!! at PANACEA.

meta

