Chicken Soup for our Peeps

April 20, 2010 § 2 Comments

I was raised on Campbell’s Chicken Noodle, and I know why.  Making chicken noodle soup from scratch isn’t a quick job.  When you have to work all day, simmering stock and rolling out noodles at dinnertime isn’t a high priority.  But JM and I have managed to make cooking for you our “work”! So, this week we got to jettison real life and instead spend a couple of days doing just that – making stock, shredding chicken, dicing vegetables, making noodles.  It was great fun.

This menu was born out of our desire to make noodles for a Panacea dinner. I still marvel at the fact that when you mix egg with flour, pasta happens.  Genius!

These are the Cheddar Chive Biscuits.  They look innocent enough, but they almost made me cry.  Attempt after attempt was funky, flat, just not right.  I was moments away from throwing up my hands and buying rolls at Ezell’s when everything finally came together.  Phew.  I hope you liked them.

Another noteworthy moment: I used a Kitchen Aid mixer for the first time, and it was revelatory.  I approached the machine with caution.  “JM, you’re going to have to show me how to use this.”  “Well, ” she said all sweet and kind, “You turn it on like this.”  End of lesson.  It really was that easy, and then that machine mixed everything while I just stood there.  I gotta get me one of those.

§ 2 Responses to Chicken Soup for our Peeps

  • tally morgan says:

    Kitchen Aid mixers can be had a bargain rates. My grandmother had one the size of a small child, and it fascinated me (I was a small child at the time). The dough hooks were especially engaging.

    Perhaps a Christmas present?

  • rebecca says:

    the soup was light and delicious! we grated a bit of parmigiano reggiano on top which added a touch of saltiness. the biscuits were flaky and amazing. enjoying a little for lunch today…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chicken Soup for our Peeps at PANACEA.

meta

